See Mommy Work

#26Acts: In memory of Dawn Hochsprung, age 47

Posted on: December 30, 2012

This whole acts of kindness thing is starting to make me see just how crazy my own life really is.  It should not be a big deal or a pain in the neck to go slightly out of my way to do something kind for a stranger.  Yet somehow, it always seems to put someone in my own circle out of their way, too.    I’m realizing just how impatient they are, and how impatient I am as well.  It is an important reflection as I look forward to the new year and how I’d like to improve myself.

I digress.

Today we took the family bowling.  It’s not a place I normally go, so I figured it’d be a great time to pass along some kindness to strangers I knew I’d never see again.  Unprepared, I scrawled a note on a piece of envelope I had in my purse.  As I did, I was interrupted about 6 times by kids needing this or that, or it was my turn, or “Mom, he’s using my ball again!” Annoyed, I suddenly thought about how so many parents in Newtown would give everything they had to get their little ones back again, even to fight with their siblings to the point of driving their parents to the liquor cabinet for a strong one.

I excused myself from our game for a minute and gave the note to the clerk, along with some cash to cover an unsuspecting strangers’ game of bowling.  I asked him to give the note to whomever he picked.  He looked at me funny but said he’d do it.

Later as we were leaving he pulled me aside and told me he read the note (apologizing that he really had to), and how nice he thought it was that I was doing it.  I thanked him and told him it was the least I could do.  I sure hope he goes home and tells someone about the #26Acts movement… and so on, and so on, and so on…

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow @michellestonge on Twitter

Michelle St. Onge

