See Mommy Work

#26Acts: In memory of Grace McDonnell, Age 7

Posted on: December 30, 2012

“These are dark times, but we must remember that we are the lights of the world.”  This message spoke powerfully to me in church today.

Bad news.  Deep, dark and truly unconscionable things happen every day.  I believe with all my heart that the best way to fight evil is by doing good.  Dark news, offset by each one of us doing small acts that bring a little light.

As I headed off to church this morning I put a larger than usual bill into an envelope and marked it in honor of little Grace.  I believe I was almost immediately rewarded by receiving this fantastic message at a time when my heart and mind was so open to hear it.

These 26 acts, these are little lights.  Like a single candle in a dark room, the more of them that come to be lit, the more the darkness cowers and the more the light prevails.

Darkness simply can not win in the face of so much light.  Thank you, Grace.

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

