See Mommy Work

#26Acts: In memory of Noah Pozner and Caroline Previdi, age 6

Posted on: December 22, 2012

A few weeks ago we went caroling around the senior home with the kids at church.  Some of these folks get regular visitors, while others get absolutely none.  I was thinking about this as I tried to figure out where some of those office party balloons might be best used.

I grabbed two bunches and ran in to a mixed residence of high needs care and independent living.  I felt like I did not belong there so I was anxious to find an employee to ask for help with finding these gifts a recipient.  I found someone in the main office and asked her if she could give them to someone who needed a bright spot in their day.  I attached small notes of explanation to each bunch in the the hope that someone would read it and get inspired to act.

I wonder if the staff welcomes this kind of gesture or if they see it more like an intrusion or an imposition.  The last thing I want is to make someone else’s work more difficult.  In the end I decide they probably appreciate the chance to make someone a little less lonely, even if it is only for a minute.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow @michellestonge on Twitter

Michelle St. Onge

