See Mommy Work

#26Acts: In memory of Victoria Soto, Age 27

Posted on: December 20, 2012

It occurred to me that most of us don’t have direct access to people who really need help.  Most of us are fortunate to run in circles of the people who offer help.  I wanted to shift my acts to get to those who really need it, so I decided to visit a local thrift shop.

I wrote a note explaining my gift and what it was for.  I asked the clerk at the desk inside the clothing store if she knew of any families who could use a bag of clothes from the shop.  Of course she had someone in mind right away.  I asked her if she would give my pre-paid bag to a family who could fill it with what they wanted when they came in, along with my note of explanation.

This one felt really great, and makes me want to look for more ways to make a difference where it is most needed.  Although right now, we are all a bit wounded in spirit, so I still think the little things mean a lot.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

