See Mommy Work

#26Acts: In memory of Benjamin Wheeler, Age 6

Posted on: December 20, 2012

I made Christmas cookies for my hairdresser.  I was walking to her shop to deliver them when I saw a homeless man walking, looking disheveled, and carrying two dirty plastic bags.

I thought about giving him the cookies and almost didn’t because I was afraid his reaction might be one of disgust.  This man needs so much, what good can cookies do?  I stopped, looked him in the eye and asked him if he wanted them.  He kind of grunted as he held out his hand to take my humble offering.

“Merry Christmas,” I said.  When I walked away it felt like there was still some unfinished business between us.  It made me want to give him more.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

