See Mommy Work

The Mommy Dilemma

Posted on: May 8, 2011

Today is Mother’s Day, so let’s start with a salute to all Moms (and Dads who do the job) everywhere.  Hats off to all who tirelessly tend the garden of the next generation.

As if motherhood isn’t a full time job in itself, most Moms of today also work outside the home.  Parenting has a way of shedding light on the fact that career or job choices are often packaged with a lifestyle that isn’t always family-friendly.
As a former stay-at-home Mom (I’ll have more to say about that misnomer in a future post…) I join the ranks of many mothers who end up re-inventing their professional selves post-motherhood.  If you’re a Mom at a career cross-road, you may find motivation in one of my Jill magazine articles.  If you can’t tell, I am passionate about this topic and would love your feedback. 
Moms, enjoy your day.  As for me, I am proudly wearing a handmade, beaded plastic “MOM” bracelet and cherishing the card I received that read, “If I had a million dollars, I would buy my mom a toaster.”  These are the moments that make it all worthwhile.

~Michelle St. Onge

Leave a Reply

Follow @michellestonge on Twitter

Michelle St. Onge

