See Mommy Work

If Momma Ain’t Happy…

Posted on: February 15, 2011

Listen up, all you Mommies. I know you. You take care of everybody but yourself because you know from experience that they need your attention more than you do, right? Wrong. If you don’t take care of yourself, your well-thought out system will eventually fail. If you’re lucky your fail will be stress taking you out with an illness for a week. If you’re not lucky…well, let’s not go there.

As a friend reminded me recently, classic airline safety schpiels advise people travelling with children to put a deployed oxygen mask on themselves first. Think about that for a minute. Now go make yourself happy. Do one small thing solely for the purpose of pleasing you. If it makes you feel better, think of it as taking one more thing off their list.

~Michelle

3 Responses to "If Momma Ain’t Happy…"

Want to know the funniest thing? Most mom’s NEVER recognize this warning and follow it until they break down themselves and the family starts to fall apart.

I never took car of my needs first (not in a selfish way), like I wanted to blog and start an exercise routine, but the kids “needed” me in their classrooms volunteering and the house needed to be spotless. Ha! Once I realized I can be a great mom and help less and have a slightly dusty house, I became less of a b*tch. I am thinner and happier. (Not because I’m thinner just because I take time for myslef.)
Quality over quantity.

Good post! My oxygen mask seems to be missing right now. I guess I need to go find it 🙂

Oh no, Megan – I hope the plane isn’t doing a nose dive! Oxygen is a must.

Leave a Reply

Follow @michellestonge on Twitter

Michelle St. Onge

