See Mommy Work

Saturday is not the weekend

Posted on: February 13, 2011

Sadly, Saturday has become just another day to get stuff done. The fact that the kids and spouse are here all day makes that just a bit more difficult. Weekends used to be about a break from work but now that I’ve embraced freelance writing and other work from home gigs, weekends are about stealing time.

I’ve taken to approaching Saturdays as broken into two different kinds of time: blocks where I can be distracted and still productive (e.g., kids are in the house playing but need fight broken up/Wii remote located/help pouring a drink) and times that any interruption renders productivity nearly impossible (only acheived when kids are on an outing with Dad, or outside/at the neighbors and there is Spouse-At-The-Ready if reinforcements are needed.)

If I don’t look at chunks of time this way I get frustrated, stressed, and nothing done. I have found that I can do laundry, dishes, and check social media updates during interruptable time. But to accomplish reading, writing, and other focus-based tasks I need what I have named “space alone in my head” or the creative thoughts just don’t flow. “Space alone in my head” is a state that is highly coveted and rarely achieved. Perhaps I’ll muse more on that topic next time.

~Michelle

4 Responses to "Saturday is not the weekend"

Michelle,

I am not a stay-at-home mom at this time, nor am I even a mother (yet), but I do have the same feelings as you about Saturdays. It just seems like there is so much to do that gets pushed into the weekends. If I try to relax on a Saturday, but haven’t gotten household chores done, I can’t focus on relaxing, so I end up getting down and dirty with the chores. Then, I think I will be able to relax on Sunday, but all I can think about is having to go back to work on Monday and all the stress that goes with that…

Lydia, it sure is tough trying to relax when there are things hanging over your head! It is a work in progress.

Michelle – I am not a mom, yet, but I can completely understand where you are coming from! I give you SO much credit for taking classes while being a mommy, and working – I feel torn between building a house, taking a class at any given moment, and working full time. I’m hoping to be done with the first two when we have kids, but you never know!

Jennifer, what you are juggling now is preparing you for how it will be later. The balls change but they will always be there! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

